Horoscope Birth Chart

What can your birthday tell you? So much more than you might think! Your birth chart, an in-depth look at each planet in the sky the moment you took your first breath, reveals your deepest desires, fears, strengths, weaknesses, and even secrets to your life path.

Free Birth / Natal Chart Calculator

birth chart wheel

Enter your information

As part of the service, you will also receive occasional special offers from Astrology.com. You can modify or cancel your subscription at any time.


Your zodiac sign is just the beginning, and it all starts with your birth chart! Astrology is an ancient language, passed down for thousands of years, and your birth chart, also known as a natal chart, can truly unlock your destiny.

A birth chart is a personalized reading that highlights areas of opportunity, how you operate in partnerships, and relationships with family and friends to illuminate how you can access our full potential.

The natal chart reading also taps into the connections the planets make with one another, and how their combined energy influences your character, temperament, and personality.

Each planet has a specific job in a birth chart and rules over a specific area of your life—work, marriage, and family, for example. Wondering what type of partner might be most compatible with your zodiac sign? Look no further than your birth chart’s Venus and Mars placements, which describe the type of affection we crave and who we are attracted to.

Think of your natal chart as a cosmic blueprint to your life—it’s unique to you. The different conversations the planets were having at the exact time you were born are the key to revealing a deeper layer of understanding beyond your zodiac sign. A birth chart analysis provides the opportunity for deeper reflection, self-awareness, and personal growth.

So, don’t be shy, unlock your cosmic destiny!


It’s quite simple—to calculate your birth chart you will need:

  • Birthday (date, month, and year)
  • Exact time of birth
  • Location of birth

With this information, you’ll have access to everything you need to start decoding your unique cosmic life path. Because natal charts are so sensitive, you’ll need accurate data – so try not to guess! If you have any doubts about exactly when and where you were born, be sure to check with a birth certificate, parent, or other family member who can confirm.

Not sure of the exact time you were born? Your birth chart will still include the significant planets in your natal chart. This will, however, affect your exact moon sign, ascendant, and the division of the houses.

As a best practice, if you are unable to find the exact time, make the closest possible estimate or enter 6:00 AM.


When you finally get your hands on your birth chart, you may find yourself a little overwhelmed. It’s a lot of information to take in – we get it. You’ll see a ton of symbols, numbers, shapes, lines, and other stuff you can’t make heads or tails of.

There are three key components to a natal chart:

  1. Zodiac Signs: The zodiac consists of 12 signs, each associated with unique traits and characteristics. Your birth chart will indicate the positions of the planets within these signs, offering insights into your personality.
  2. Planets: The planets in your birth chart represent different facets of your personality and life experiences. The sun, moon, and ascendant (rising) signs are particularly significant, each revealing essential aspects of your identity. These are often referred to as the “big three.”
  3. Astrological Houses: There are 12 astrological houses, each governing specific life areas. The houses in your birth chart provide context for how planetary energies manifest in different aspects of your life.

That takes us to the next part of understanding your birth chart: the planets. The position of the planets within your zodiac sign during your birth provides specific details about your personality, strengths, challenges, and life path.