Astrology Fact

Zodiac Signs

Last update on August 7, 2014
Your Zodiac Sign, or Sun Sign, reflects the position of the Sun when you were born. There are 12 in the Zodiac, each of which takes up an equal part on a wheel, or chart. Where these fall in your personal chart depends on the time and place of your birth.

The Zodiac Sign affects how you will look, act, and feel during this lifetime and, as such, provides little personality portraits which may help you make certain decisions or avoid issues that may come up from time to time.

Each Sign is really an energy that can act on other bodies, such as transiting planets, and color how the combined energies will manifest in your own life. Though the Sun Sign is only one of many factors affecting an individual Zodiac Chart, it has a strong effect on how a person feels about him or herself, and how that ego is expressed in the world.

The 12 Zodiac Signs are divided by the elements that rule them. For example, the Water Signs are Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces, the Fire Signs are Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius, the Earth Signs are Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn, and the Air Signs are Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius. Each element determines how the Zodiac Sign will enact itself during this incarnation.

Additionally, the signs of the Zodiac are divided according into Cardinal Signs (Aries, Cancer, and Capricorn), Fixed Signs (Taurus, Aquarius, and Leo) and Mutable Signs (Gemini, Virgo, and Sagittarius). In general, Cardinal Signs are associated with creativity and drive, Fixed Signs with focus and determination, and Mutable Signs with resourcefulness and adaptability.

Each of the Zodiac Signs is associated with a planet, called its ruler. This planet indicates how the Zodiac Sign will interact with others, make its way through life, and form successful relationships.
Enter your e-mail address: